Affiliated with Université Laval & CERVO Research Centre

Awards & Distinctions

Yves De Koninck wins 2014 Barbara Turnbull awards for spinal cord research


Yves De Koninck has been awarded the 2014 Barbara Turnbull awards for spinal cord research.  This prize is supported through a partnership between the Barbara Turnbull Foundation for Spinal Cord Research, Brain Canada, and the CIHR Institute of Neurosciences, Mental Health and Addiction.  It is the top prize in spinal cord injury research awarded in Canada each year.

Dr. De Koninck studies the persistent changes in spinal cord function that occur after nervous system injury that lead to chronic pain.  Understanding the long term alterations that...


Francesco Ferrini wins one of the top 3 Brain Star awards of 2014


Francesco Ferrini, Post-Doctoral fellow Yves De Koninck's laboratory, was recognized as one of the top three Brain Star awardees of 2014 by the Canadian Institutes for Health Research, for an article published in Nature Neuroscience (Ferrini, Trang et al.). This prize was shared with Tuan Trang, co-first author of the publication.

Marc Bergeron and Martin Gagnon receive Marlene Reimer Brain Star of the Year award at CAN2014


Marc Bergeron received the Marlene Reimer Brain Star of the year award at the 8th Annual Canadian Association for Neuroscience meeting. This award is given to the highest ranking Brain Star Award of the year. Brain Star awards are given by the Institutes of Neurosciences, Mental Health and Addiction of the CIHR and are designed to recognize the excellence of research done in Canada by students and trainees in all fields and disciplines covered by the Institute.

Marc Bergeron shares this prize with Martin Gagnon, co-first author of the prized article...


Francesco Ferrini / Tuan Trang 2013 Brain Star Awards from the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR)


2013 - Francesco Ferrini / Tuan Trang

Article in Nature Neuroscience: Morphine hyperalgesia gated through microglia-mediated disruption of neuronal Cl⁻ homeostasis.


Québec Science Top 10 discoveries of 2013 for discovery of mechanism explaining morphine induced hyperalgesia


Recent discoveries  explaining the mechanism of morphine induced hyperalgesia have been named one of the top 10 discoveries of 2013 by Québec Science.

Congratulations to co-first authors Francesco Ferrini & Tuan Trang and the rest of the team! 


Top 10 scientific breakthroughs of 2013 - Le Soleil: Chronic Pain under siege


Research done in the YDK lab are recognized as one of the top ten scientific breakthroughs of 2013, according to Le Soleil newspaper: 

Identifying the part of the cell that causes a disease. Understanding where, exactly, the mechanism breaks.  Finding a drug to repair it.  In biomedical research, this is probably what approaches the definition of a »hat trick» And it is what the team of Yves De Koninck, neuroscientist at Université Laval, have just done in the fight against chronic pain.

Read the complete article in ...


Découverte de l'année Québec Science 2013: Le double jeu de la morphine


2013: Le double jeu de la morphine

For explaining why morphine can paradoxically cause pain, and showing that the mechanisms underlying pain hypersensitivity are distinct from those causing morphine tolerance. 

Original research article: Ferrini F, Trang T, Mattioli TA, Laffray S, Del'Guidice T, Lorenzo LE, Castonguay A, Doyon N, Zhang W, Godin AG, Mohr D, Beggs S, Vandal K, Beaulieu JM, Cahill CM, Salter MW, De Koninck Y. ...


Yves De Koninck named Scientific Director of the Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec


Congratulations to Yves De Koninck, who was named the new Scientific Director of the Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec.  Learn more about this nomination here:

Personality of the week La Presse Radio Canada: Yves De Koninck


Yves De Koninck personality of the week La Presse Radio-Canada for the week of October 21 2013, in recognition of his recent discoveries that could lead to the development of new pain relief drugs, and for receiving the Jacques Rousseau prize for multidisciplinarity.

Read this story in La Presse.

Yves De Koninck receives the Jacques-Rousseau prize for multidisciplinarity


ACFAS has awarded Yves De Koninck the Jacques-Rousseau prize, for multidisciplinarity.  This prize was created to highlight the work of a researchers whose accomplishments have gone beyond his area of expertise and has built bridges between disciplines.  This award recognizes the efforts made by Dr De Koninck over the last 10 years to link neurosciences and optics-photonics.  Since 2002, he has led many projects, including the creation of the Neurophotonics Centre, which have brought together researchers from the Québec Mental Health Institute and those from the Centre for optics,...



Subscribe to Awards & Distinctions