Affiliated with Université Laval & CERVO Research Centre

Awards & Distinctions

Knitting neurons - in the top 10 discoveries of 2016 for Québec Science


A discovery made in collaboration with Yves De Koninck of the Neurophotonics Centre has been listed as one of the top 10 discoveries of 2016 by Québec Science, and is a candidate for the magazine's people's choice award for discovery of the year. This discovery, a collaboration between neuroscientists and physicists, offers hope for repair of nerve connections, and even a way to create new ones.  

Learn more about this discovey in the Québec Science magazine, and vote for this discovery here: ...


Yves De Koninck will receive the Distinguished Career Award from the Canadian Pain Society


The director of the Neurophotonics Centre, Yves De Koninck, will receive the Canadian Pain Society's 2017 Distinguished Career Award. This award recognizes Dr. De Koninck's longstanding contributions to pain research.
The award will be given at the next Canadian Pain Society meeting, in May 2017 in Halifax.

Yves De Koninck recevra le prix de la carrière distinguée de la Société canadienne de la douleur


Bravo à Yves De Koninck, qui recevra le prix de la Carrière distinguée 2017 de la Société canadienne de la douleur. Ce prix reconnait les contributions de longue date du professeur De Koninck en recherche sur la douleur.
Le prix lui sera remis au Congrès de la Société canadienne de la douleur en mai à Halifax.

Yves De Koninck appointed to the Royal Society of Canada


Yves De Koninck was recently appointed to the Royal Society of Canada for "seminal contributions to understanding how neurons communicate at the cellular and molecular levels, in normal and pathological pain. Equally ground-breaking are his contributions to developing novel photonics technologies to push the frontiers of neuroscience".

View the Royal Society of Canada - Class of 2015 full listing.


Dr. Rob Bonin Appointed Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto


Rob Bonin has been appointed Assistant Professor at the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto, effective August 1, 2015. 

Read more about his appointment on the University of Toronto website.

Congratulation Rob!

Yves De Koninck receives an honorary doctorate from the Université de Montréal


Yves De Koninck was awarded an honoris causa doctorate from the Université de Montréal for his exceptional contributions to research in neuroscience, and specifically in research to relieve pain.  The rector of the Université de Montréal highlighted Dr. De Koninck's work:

Dr. Yves De Koninck, who we are honoring today, has demonstrated in a remarkable manner the importance of scientific collaboration.  To bring together mental health researchers and physicists specialising in optics, photonics and lasers, you had to be a visionnary. This collaboration has given...


Yves De Koninck named Scientific Director of the CIUSS de la Capitale Nationale


Dr. Yves De Koninck has been named Director of Research of the  Centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux (CIUSSS) de la Capitale-Nationale. For more information, read the  Press release.

Robert Bonin receives BrainStar of the year award from CIHR


Congratulations to Robert Bonin, who was awarded the BrainStar of the year award at the 2015 Canadian Neuroscience Meeting in Vancouver. He was recognized as the top recipient of all the 2014 Brain Star awardees.

Brain Star awards were designed to recognize the excellence of research done in Canada by students and trainees in all fields and disciplines covered by the CIHR Institutes of Neuroscience, Mental Health and Addiction, to promote research careers in neuroscience, mental health and addiction in Canada, and
to stimulate the participation of trainees in the planning and...


Robert Bonin 2014 Brain Star Award of the year from the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR)


2014 - Robert Bonin (Brain Star of the year)

Article in Nature Neuroscience: A spinal analog of memory reconsolidation enables reversal of hyperalgesia.


Robert Bonin named Étudiant chercheur étoile by the FRQ-S


Robert Bonin was named Étudiant chercheur étoile for the month of March 2015 by the Fonds de recherche du Québec - Santé for his publication : A Spinal Analogue of Memory Reconsolidation Enables Reversal of Hyperalgesia, published in : Nature Neuroscience, vol. 17, online in July 2014, p. 1043-1045

You can read more about this important publication on  Robert Bonin's chercheur étoile page on the website of the Fonds...



Subscribe to Awards & Distinctions